beginners guide to rabbit shooting

ips

I have a one acre field with "some" rabbit on it. I am a clay and lately a game shooter however I have always had air rifles purely for plinking. I am thinking of some rabbit shooting purely for sport (also food for my working cocker if that's the done thing)

Anyway I need a beginners guide as to how to go about it. Best time of day, aim point, distance, cammo, were and how to set up, any info really.

I have an air arms S400 classic @12ft lbs and Hawke map scope. Also bsa lightning with appollo scope.

As I say I am a total novice at this type of shooting so after any info however obvious it may sound to seasoned shooters.

Thanks in advance

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

A great post.

First thing to do is forget the gun and get the bins. Have a good watch, look for where the rabbits are coming and going, how many there are, and any possible contours in the ground you can use to your advantage.

Then you'll have a bit more of an idea how to proceed. As it's a small field, ambushing would be the way to go. Have a look at setting a natural hide out of similar foliage to the hedges with a limited profile sticking out. bunnies might get uneasy about a sudden bulge sticking out from the side where there wasn't one yesterday, so keep it narrow! It sounds like you're going to be a decent shot anyway, so i'd be more inclined to only take shot placement seriously and the rest just to enjoy yourself with it. Sounds like a fun activity! Where abouts in the world are you?

Have fun!

Down wind, got it 👍

Chris

Thanks for info, all useful stuff.