Where are they?

pinfireman

I have been decoying pigeons since 1976, and had some really good years, but recently numbers bagged have been falling......after a quiet winter I looked forwards to the Spring drillings. Still very quiet. 100 acres of beans drilled, and not a pigeon in 6 days! Something seriously wrong....so I contacted a shooting pal who was a service engineer for a multi-national agricultural machinery manufacturer....he is on very good terms with farmers around the country, and he has spoken to some of them,as well as asking fellow service engineers to do the same.....it,s not like the RSPB Big Bird Day, but it,s good enough for me.....pigeon numbers are DOWN, and seem to have been falling for the last couple of years! Whilst there are still some "hotspots" across the country, overall things don,t look too good! If this really is the case, what has caused the drop in numbers? Any ideas?

we still have the same numbers of pigeons around here.................but they are very skitish.....one bang and off they go for the rest of the day......the most i can expect for an outing is five or six birds......i find putting a flapper on a flightline is the only way i can pull them in........

8 or 9 years ago i could go out 3 or 4 times a week and expect 15-20 birds.......as i said the numbers are still here but very wary................i dont think the numbers are down ...i still think they are on the up.....but their habits are changing....maybe something to do with the weather....crops (type of)....

I don't believe numbers are down.

I have had maybe 800 acres of beans drilled that I can shoot, but I haven't seen much pigeon activity on most of it. The pigeons are around. I have seen them mostly on grassland over the past week or two.