Hi all from South Essex

Stuart2518

Hi All,

Just joined and finding a lot of interesting reads and tips on here, as I'm relatively new to shooting (on civilian street anyways).

I've just applied for my SGC and understand Essex Police are one of the worst counties for issuing SGC's....... :mad: It looks like I'm in for a 40+ week wait...

I wanted to know if there are any recommend places to shoot in Essex on a regular basis where I can start to get back into the swing of things again? It would need to be a place where a shotgun can be supplied of course. I have Googled a few places that look good but wanted to check with the experienced guys on here.

Thanks in advance :good:

Cheers all for the info.

At the moment I'll be going to Bury St Edmunds as I''ve got a pal there who shoots a lot so easy for me to join and get good practice.

Just got a letter back from Essex Police to say they want to be honest and they are working on around 40 weeks but I have read on the below link to start sending letters etc. after 12 weeks?

http://www.shootinguk.co.uk/uncategorized/shotgun-licence-delayed-dont-stand-for-it-15706

Has anyone actually done this and if so did it even help? I'm curious as it could potentially save 2/3's of the waiting time if it actually worked?

Thanks again

• 1 month later...

Quick update...

So, I sent a letter to my local MP explaining how unhappy I was with the wait and service. She sent a letter to Essex Police and had a promising response. Essex Police are now at a 27 week wait time but with around 33% of applications being processed within 90 days and they have not adjusted their standard letter for some stupid reason.

I would recommend anyone else in Essex waiting for their Grant to write to their local MP as this may help them and all of us :good: 

On 11/9/2017 at 15:08, Vaz said:

Forgot to say Stuart, check out he Orion Club (http://www.gunclub.uk) in Brentwood. They're a friendly bunch. Where in Essex are you?