Moving to FAC

newperson77

Hi,

I'm new on here so hello everyone. I'm based in Scotland, I've been shooting airguns for many years but now the licensing has come in here i'm debating whether I should look at getting an FAC or shotgun certificate. This is new territory for me.

My airgun license is for target shooting and pest control. The pest control part of the license is for 12.5 acres of land I own to control pests (rabbits, wood pigeon etc). The Land is pretty isolated and surrounded with a deer fence so access is very well controlled. Its not flat so there are plenty of backstops. The airgun lacks range and I was considering a FAC air gun to extend the useful range  but after looking into it I'm not convinced the cost of the airgun for the small increase in range is worth it when you look at 22lr and 17hmr etc.

Getting the airgun license was my first experience of licensing. From what I can tell it looks easier to get a SGC than a FAC and the police are more likely to grant a FAC airgun than a .22lr for example.

Ideally I think a .22lr would be the best solution for what I need but I didn't know how likely that was to get granted.

What do you think is the best approach?

Thanks,

Mark

Hi Mark

The critical difference between a SGC and a FAC is for the SGC you dont have to show good reason i.e. you have the right to have a SGC as long as there is no good reason to prevent you having one (i.e. medical conditions, previous convictions ect).

For an FAC you need good reason this being commonly target shooting (for which you need to be a member of an approved club), Pest control over land you have permission to shoot over  (in England normally for an initial grant the land needs to be cleared by the local police for the calibre of rifle you are shooting but in Scotland I think its a bit different due to right to roam laws but no doubt someone from there can clarify) or Deer stalking.