Scope magnification for 22LR?

Houseplant

Following on from my other thread. I set up 24mm targets on paper at 50 metres. My scope is decent quality, but with maximum magnification at X9, the targets were bloody tiny! I'm rabbit shooting to 50 metres at the moment, but would like to push that out further as my marksmanship improves. Thinking about a higher magnification scope. What are you using?

I am no expert on scopes but my scope (22lr) goes up-to x12, but very rarely use that magnification as the field of view is very small, shooting rabbits out to 75 yards x9 seems to be about right for me.

Surprised you think the 24mm target is small with the scope set at x9? I usually zero my rifle at 50 yards on 10mm dots on plain white paper.

On the rare occasion I take the .22LR bunny bashing it would be used at about 50 yards on about 5 mag. I find it difficult to acquire bunnies at the typical 80 yards HMR range I shoot them at if I use much more 6 or 8 mag.

I don't think there is a right or wrong answer to this. It's whatever suits you. I use 6x on my rimfires and 8x on my centrefires. 

My 22 hornet I just changed from 8x to 6x.

Edited by walshie

20 hours ago, old'un said:

I usually zero my rifle at 50 yards on 10mm dots on plain white paper.

That is impressive! 

13 hours ago, Dougy said:

I've knobbled bunnies at allot more than 50 yards with a 9x. If your struggling with 9x maybe the opticians may be more help. 

That's not a problem. I'm thinking about the 100 yard shots that I'm working up to 

Thanks for all the other replies. All read and digested. 

1 hour ago, defender said: