Vitamin and nutrients deficiency

getthegat

Anyone Into health supplements? At this time I have an oesophagus restriction, with no sign of a surgical date to fix me. Lots of foods are off limits now due to really bad chest pain, Indegestion, heart burn, acid reflux etc. I can't eat any green veg, no salad, very little fruit, no bread and now pretty much all meat affects me badly too. I'm loosing weight, struggling to sleep and always tired. The doctors have said there is nothing they can give me and I just have to learn what gives the pain and steer clear of it. I have to chew a lot more and not eat after about 6.00 in the evening. I'm living on soup and yogurt basically and I'm worried I'm not getting the required nutrients and vitamins. Anyone had or got this condition and able to offer advice. 

Edited by getthegat
Wrongly spelt word.

Seems strange the Dr doesn’t really know, I work as a pharmacy technician and we routinely sort out nutrition for patients, there are many liquid based drinks that can provide all your daily calories, vits and minerals.  Sounds like a review with a dietitian is needed.

Complan drinks work really well. We got my 91 year old Father in law through a bad stroke using these. They come in strawberry, chocolate and a neutral you can mix in with stuff.

Try spelt bread I find this doesn't affect my reflux. Also eat slowly and  chew everything up really well.

I used to suffer badly from acid and reflux and take Nexium to control it. If you take it long term you need to take vitamin B12 supplements as it can reduce there uptake long term. Vegan (wash my mouth out) supplementary vitamins have B group vitamins in. Aldi do a good multivitamin tablet.

Milky horlicks is good for bedtime to get you through the night.

Edited by loriusgarrulus