Humane Dispatch

Prospero

A recent thread about the use of pistols for the above got me thinking.

I regulary cage trap and shoot foxes with my .410 - and do it humanely. But I have never had any formal training in humane dispatch - there is plenty online these days that one can read and educate oneself on shot placement etc, and although I have never done humane dispatch on deer or pigs for example, I think I would be able to do it properly and effectively.

So, the question is, do I need any more training? I have had a SGC for many years, I do pest control for a living, am a member of BASIS, NPTA and have a long and tiring list of other qualifications in pest control. My SGC doesn't mention quarry or the like, so I am interested in opinions, especially the chaps who know a bit about deer.

If you are intending to do roadside despatch of deer then it may be worth considering as an HD course will cover more than just shot placement and selection of firearm etc it will cover risk assessment, the law and insurance etc. 

Having said that as a pest controller you may already be well up on those things, it doesn't sound like you need any training in the practical aspect of HD. 

Unless someone is requiring you to do it, I wouldn't bother personally given the level of experience you say you have. 

A farmer mate of mine says that regarding shot placement, if you draw an imaginary line from the left ear to the right eye, and another from the right ear to the left eye, and place your muzzle there, you cannot miss, whatever the beast. He's never had a runner yet! 🙂 

Short answer is no! If you have a firearms or shotgun licence your qualified. Most professionals knacker men use the humane slaughter association publications as their rule book.  There is a bit more to the job than just rocking up and shooting things in the face!

1 minute ago, Scully said: