Just Decoys

So, we're ignoring all of the ancilliaries - flappers, rotaries and bouncers, et al and just considering your bog standard decoy of a reasonable standard and condition - yep, we all know that any old tat will work to a degree, but we'll ignore these as well as we're looking at a tad more than just a "degree".

Questions are, how many and can you have too many and if so how many is too many, placed out at once?

Im a complete novice to pigeon shooting have only been out a few times with a friend. I have just bought my own decoys hide etc & I've gone for the most simple & light set up... 10 shell decoys on the springey stick things & two floating bouncers & if this works and I can connect just add the dead birds to the pattern with the head supported up all facing into the wind 

13 minutes ago, wymberley said:

So, we're ignoring all of the ancilliaries - flappers, rotaries and bouncers, et al and just considering your bog standard decoy of a reasonable standard and condition - yep, we all know that any old tat will work to a degree, but we'll ignore these as well as we're looking at a tad more than just a "degree".

Questions are, how many and can you have too many and if so how many is too many, placed out at once?

I carry 27 shells and in the winter on rape have been known to have a pattern of 80.

4 minutes ago, wymberley said:

I often revert to what we would term as basics when it comes to pigeon decoying , net , poles , seat , cartridges and a sack of assorted decoys , this time of the year it is fairly easy to find the pigeons , do a bit of homework and look at the stubble fields , what I like is building a hide around a bale , putting out some rubber decoys showing above the stubble and then using any dead ones i get to make the set up more realistic , two floaters , dead ones on cradles and leave the magnet at home .