Always happens when you need it...

Walker570

Just have a project on the go that requires some wood being planed and what does the planer do?  Yep, it pops it's clogs.  Every time I go to switch it on it blows the contract trips switch.

I am no electrician, so before I start to disassemble said planer, any suggestions.   It is a TITAN via Screwfix and I have had it a few years and it has ben invaluable.  Throw it in the bin or repair , what do you think?

Edited by Walker570

Has it been smelling "fishy" OR a sort of acrid smell?

unplug and examine every inch of flex supplying it.....could be a dodgy flex shorting out on vibration BUt this would blow plug fuse as well, so it's unlikely as it would happen when it's switched off

can  you access the motors carbon brushes?....cheaper ones do not have an internal hold-off spring   .  so the brushes wear out ( motor usually splutters and fraps for a while and occasionally loses power before this happens) and the contact spring shorts out the commutator ( the big chunky copper lump at the back end with slits in it ) this usually allows the magic smoke to come out and death is almost instant 

Give it a few knocks on the bench,. Could be a stuck contact.

Try spinning the blades round see if it stuck.

Get the hand plane out, nothing as satisfying as getting full length see through curls off a bit of wood.

Edited by figgy

PM sent

20 hours ago, figgy said:

Give it a few knocks on the bench,. Could be a stuck contact.

Try spinning the blades round see if it stuck.

Get the hand plane out, nothing as satisfying as getting full length see through curls off a bit of wood.

Gave that hand stuff up back in 1959 when I took my A Levels at Grammar School:good:

A very nice offer from Strimmer and I will be having a look inside mine as well as a visit to North Dorset.

10 minutes ago, Walker570 said:

PM sent

Gave that hand stuff up back in 1959 when I took my A Levels at Grammar School:good: