Powder coating bullets.

I’ve got the time and all the bits and pieces so I thought I would try it. I have not bought any powder because I was told that some powders do not work which makes the last step tricky. Obviously I need a UK supplier. I really need the experience of someone who has powder coated with a particular powder easily sourced.

46 minutes ago, phaedra1106 said:

Don't bother it's a complete waste of time.  A properly sized bullet of the correct harness will shoot perfectly well

+1  Why would you want to do it? Does it make them more accurate/cheaper/quicker to make? This seems to be a fashion that serves little useful purpose (other than bling). I remember when moly coating bullets was a "thing" was going to revolutionise longrange shooting - who does it now?

I have no experience here BUT in my bizarre working brain a synapse just went off! You need a powder that will cook in your domestic oven and some just wont. Now I could have imagined that or completely make it up but I'm almost certain I read that somewhere once. Maybe 😂

This was very popular in the US a couple of years ago, there's no evidence that powder (epoxy) coated bullets shoot any better than a decent un-coated.

By all means give it a try (something to do!), you'll need a powder that (as you said) will bake in a domestic oven, in the US they use a little cheap "toaster oven"

I almost brought some powder back a few years ago but decided the amount of time and energy just wasn't worth it for no appreciable gain.

If you know anyone going to the US (at some point in the future) Harbour Frieght have it quite cheaply ($6.99 - 16oz) , there are a few stores scattered over Florida.

https://www.harborfreight.com/painting/paints-sealants-adhesives.html?category=2553

Ok, I appreciate the replys. The calibre I'm shooting and making for, if it works, is 9mm. I buy copper wash bullets now but they are dear, so powder coating might;

1. Be fun to make.

2. Be cheap to shoot.