New Permission

Esker

Hi Guys

I've (luckily) managed to secure a permission with a friend of a friend. He's told me he has loads of rabbits running about and I'd be helping him out if I could reduce the numbers. I'm pretty new to game shooting and with this being my first permission and wanting to make a good impression/ not look a fool - I was wondering if you guys had any advice as to, essential equipment, general prep and considerations of what to take with me and ask? 

So far I'm thinking to take a land permission form detailing the relevant info and what is permissible or not for me to shoot (as he's more than likely going to have a few magpies, crows and squirrels knocking about) and a print out from Gmaps/ OS Maps to draw the boundaries. Do I need to be as formal as to offer a copy of some identification? 

Any help would be great!

Thanks in advance 

Esk

If the friend already shoots the ground then best walk it with him first, get him to introduce you to the farmer, you have been asked to help clear rabbits, then that’s all you shoot till you get to know the farmer, once you have been a few times you can then ask if its ok to shoot other vermin/pests.

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

Okay, that sounds like sound advice! From the brief chat we had on the phone it's his land and he's not shooting on it himself, Will get more info tomorrow I'm sure.

Thanks for the reply and the welcome

Ok, so have you ever shot rabbits before?

What live quarry have you killed?

Will you be shooting during the day or night?

What type of gun will you be using?

Just to answer a couple of your questions….

Permission to shoot form, I have never carried such paperwork but I always have the farmers contact details in my phone, but if it makes you feel better then ask him if he would fill-in a permission to shoot form.

Taking a Google Maps print-out of the area is a good idea.