Gundog Photo

crowstopper

yes i think the rule of introducing dogs to water slowly should always be used , and always start of on a shallow bank and work up to steeper 1's.

yes Indeed it does look wolfish, and the second 1 looks like it has been catapulted from land.

i will get some more photos on here of flying and wolfish dogs soon :thumbs: :lol::lol:

crowstopper

I had a super springer a few years ago which I lost prematurely to Cushings disease.

He was from an exceptionally successful working line and was very easy to train, particularly marking and retrieving in water. He absolutely loved it...

I remember the first time I took him to the bank side at about 6 months old he bolted down a steep bank and straight out into 8ft of freezing water after a moorhen he had spotted on the opposite bank. That dog had the biggest feet of any springer I have ever seen and he could swim like a bloody otter. When I started training him to retreive dummies over water I did it on a stretch of the local river Coln and he used to swim around with his head under the water watching the shoals of grayling swimming below.

On one occasion during a hot day in 82 he vaulted our garden fence I spend 3 hours searching the village looking for him and all the time he was cooling off in our neighbours swimming pool... What a dog...

It was just over 4 ft high..

I have had a couple of springers and they make such wonderful working dogs and companions.

I have a couple of cockers at the moment 22 months old and showing great potential One though will not work anywhere near water or even tolerate a drop of rain on his back. Funny how they differ.

A springer though in my opinion is the greatest of all the gun dogs.

They can hunt and flush up even the stubbornest of woodcock, tackle the thickest of thorn hedges and briars, swim better than Mark Spitz. mark point and retreive with the best of them... a great all round dog.