Black rabbits ?.

samboy

Hi gang.

I've been shooting rabbits for about 16 years now and have never seen a black one. But just been watching some rabbit shooting

on Youtube up the Orkneys and there were quite a few of them. I was up the Orkneys a while back and the rabbits seemed bigger

than the ones around here.  So are black ones rare  ?.

They were not rare round here in Cheshire before the big Myxy outbreak in the early 2000s. I was told that they were mixed wild and domesticated however they may have just been a natural melanistic mutation. 

Where about are your shooting grounds? I haven’t seen a black one for a few years now. 

8 minutes ago, WalkedUp said:

They were not rare round here in Cheshire before the big Myxy outbreak in the early 2000s. I was told that they were mixed wild and domesticated however they may have just been a natural melanistic mutation. 

Where about are your shooting grounds? I haven’t seen a black one for a few years now. 

I have 4 permissions in North Stifford Essex

I go up to the north coast of Scotland (I know not quite Orkney) and the rabbits do so well that most are well grown. We tend to get so many youngsters in Cheshire and North Wales. That be said I don’t bother shooting them unless I need to as our numbers are so low. Took a friend’s grandson out for a couple of hours on Friday on the rabbits for his birthday. Four rabbits seen under lamp, three were not safe shots and the other one was cleanly killed 3/4 grown. 

Hi Sam boy not rare ,black rabbits appear every few years about 10years ago we had more black rabbits than brown ones. Near Delamere we had brown and white ones. The black ones are just as wild. Rabbits are just returning after the viral infection including the black ones. These were shot in 2015.

4FBE6D99-D977-4404-8252-9FB1192056E4.jpeg