Labrador retrieving instinct

Rob85

My pup is now around 14 weeks old and apart from carrying things about that she shouldn't have, picking up wood chippings or sticks etc, she doesn't seem to have much interest in retrieving anything i have tossed for her.

Her main interests seem to lie in playing with/tormenting the older dog.

I have heard that the retrieving instinct really starts to kick in around puberty, as I'm a complete novice with labs I was wondering if I should be worried thus far 

She's 14 weeks old for heavens sake.  At this stage all you need to do is gently take anythng she picks up and carries from her with a  " Thank you" and a fussy cuddle. 

Now is the time to spend teaching good behaviour, sit, heal etc etc.   The sit/stay is easily ingrained if you do it every time her food is put down. She only gets to eat it when you say so and sits and stays before that point.

It makes me seriously mad when I see perfectly good dogs which have not been taught good manners.  Teaching retireving and hunting comes secondary in my book.

Photographs please..please....

Edited by Walker570

Spot on Walker570! At 14 weeks old the pup is only just finding what life is about.

May I add another re behaviour - Make the dog sit before you open a door and then make it wait until told. A big dog like a Labrador can be a dangerous menace when young children are in the doorway. 

We live near a footpath and I see badly behaved puppies/dogs towing their owners on leads. Then they jump up covered in mud and the owners think its perfectly ok.

buy yourself a whistle and choose a recall peep peep........and use it to alert the pup to dinner time.....everytime........choose the words of command you will use with the dog and make damn sure everyone else uses the same language

this is going to be your working dog

not someone elses toy/plaything...........but apart from that let the dog play.........and not tug-o-war.......