shooting geese with an air-rifle

billywhiz

well as title surgests is it legal to shoot geese with an air-rifle(FAC)

now i am no expert but i was always led to belive that to shoot game with a rifle it had to be with expanding ammo .

can some one put me right on this matter

stevo

P.S  just to point out that i have no intention of doing this its just an inqury thats all .

The simple answer is i dont know.

I maybe wrong, but a Lead pellet will expand on impact, thus giving you expanding ammo.  Solids are what target or army rifles fire (Full Metal Jacket) and are designed not to expand as fast as soft nose rounds.

The person to speak to would be Hammergun, he's quite clued up on these issues.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Billm,getting a fac for an airrifle is no more or less hard than for any section one firearm,ie you have to fill out the same forms,get 2 referees etc,the only thing that may make it easier is A,getting land approved for air rifle will be easier and B,if you have no experiance with rifle shooting but have experiance with air rifles you are more likely to be approved than if you applied straight out for a centerfire.Theres quite a few posts on here on the subject and a link to a webpage that takes you through the fom in easy to understand steps.Hope this helps a bit :(

Thanks for the help lads, one more question. Already have the air-rifle a theoben sirrocco one of the first they made, its on 12lb but can be pushed up to i think they told me 28lb, would i be able to use it on the same fac  if i was granted one for a .22 rimfire

Thanks for the help lads, one more question. Already have the air-rifle a theoben sirrocco one of the first they made, its on 12lb but can be pushed up to i think they told me 28lb, would i be able to use it on the same fac  if i was granted one for a .22 rimfire