Lurcher info wanted

Always fancied one, but never needed a lurcher until recently, but Im starting to amass alot of rabbitting over sustancial ammounts of arable farmland, and I feel it time to perhaps aquire one.

I've been offered a young Saluki greyhound Bull cross, and what a magnificent looking creature he is.

I'm no expert on lurchers, and wondered if any of you lurchermen, could give me some advise on this particular cross.

I wonder if perhaps the 'Bull' in him will make him a little hard mouthed and maybe 'too' keen.

Any thoughts

Paul in North Lincs.

Edited by Paul in North Lincs.

I am sure he is a stunning dog and without a doubt he will take rabbits but his real trengths are the fox, and deer and possibly the hare if he is racey enogh. If you want a dog specificly for the rabbits you want somthing a fair bit smaller whippet x collie or bedlington. The larger dogs dont turn with a rabbit as well as a smaller ones and will over shoot and often by the time they get back in to the case the rabbit has found cover.

Dave

I've got a Whippet/Irish Wolf Hound cross and he was **** at rabbits but brilliant at deer. He's brought down a fair few hinds in his time.

You'de be better off with a smaller lurcher with whippet in him/her for the rabbits for a tighter turing circle and al that stuff I think.

gb.

how old is he and how tall to the shoulder??

it will have staminer and determination and if its not too big i cant see why it wont make a good rabbit dog as long as it hasn't been spoiled. dont expect too much to soon out of this breed byed your time m8 and he'll be a top dog for you

i bred my own mother= whippet/greyhound x saluki greyhound father 1st cross bull greyhound

i kept a dog pup for myself, he made 23 inches to the shoulder he was a realy good dog on rabbit and fox he also would take the odd hare