flight-lining

biakalblaster

I'm new to pigeon shooting, from an air-gunning and more recently .22 rimfire bunny bashing, background.

In my shoot there are good flightlines, along approx 1 mile stands of pine, 40-50m wide.

There are good sized clearings where you can wait out the pigeons.

So far have been getting 3-5 pigeons in 30-45 min sessions.

the fields around are grazing or barely (not harvested yet).

Some times i go and see very few pigeons. whens the best time of day to go for flightlines?

I suspect the blighters roost in the woods, so before roosting time may be best - when would they go to roost?

I have also found on windy days its easier to get them as they tend to fly closer to tree tops, on still days often out of range.

there also seem to be more on flightline on a windy day - wonder they that is?

I use a basic (#50) side-by-side biakal 12bore, with 1/2 and full choke, i have been advised elsewhere to get the full choke barrel reamed to 1/2 or 1/4 choke - how much would this cost to get done?

I initially missed lots as i was aiming too close infront of the birds, i have extened lead on the faster higher ones to 6ft and had more success.

I have used 1 oz, and 1 1/8 oz, 6 & 6.5 carts - Hulls

so any tips welcome on flight-lining e.g. time of day to get best bag

might try decoying when fields of grain are cut

biakalblaster It seems that you are doing every thing right. :friends: on the shooting front. I had a quote last week from a gunsmith to open out a choke and his cost was £15 a barrel. So allowing for Regional variations it should be around that mark.

Tiercel.

hi biakalblaster