Newbie question

jonnyoftheboy

Without wishing to bore anyone....

I am right eye dominant, right handed shot......

what I found was when I started shooting I tended to squint left eye... which over time (of 4 lessons or so) turned into a close of left eye. Meaning by then I was pretty much aiming - did a lot of rifle shootin as a kid.... so was an easy bad habit to get into. 1st few lessons, breaking lots, last couple...... performance down

now am trying to keep both eyes open.... but think I am often lifting my eyes up to see the target rather than actually moving the gun. so obviously need to concentrate more in keeping both eyes looking down the rib... past the bead....at the clay. Am I right in saying that the picture I see, with both eyes open, is almost 2 barrells - 1 from left eye & 1 from right..... with a single bead at the end.... which, if I am properly looking past it to look for the clay, should be blurred in my vision?

I don't want to go back to squinting left eye..... as I want to learn to shoot with both eyes open, & I have not been shooting for that long, so still early enough to break bad habits & learn good ones..... but found I was breaking more clays with a slight squint in the left eye.

The other side of the coin..... it may have more to do with where I have had lessons, there is quite a lot of trees.... so easier to pick a point where you can pick up the flight of the clay & pretty much determined where your mount should be & where you should break clay. have shot at willow farm & west kent & they are very open in comparison.... not much (if any) tree cover...... so can see the clay a lot earlier & for longer....with very little natural points of reference to help you remember the flight of the clay...... & am finding it a little harder to "get my bearings" & decide where break point should be.

any advice greatfully received. Hope they are not stooopid newbie questions....