Buying a Rifle Scope

Axe

A friend of mine has very kindly donated a rifle to me. Though it is a budget rifle, I am sure that it will offer me the chance to see if Airgunning is for me. As with all my sports and hobbies, I like to do them properly. Another buddy of mine who has some experience has suggested I purchase a better set of Rifle Scopes, to give myself a fighting chance.

With this, I have looked on the internet and through the Airgunner magazine and have come to the conclusion that one: I've no idea what i'm looking for and two: there are far too many scopes on the market for me to make any sensible decision. I would like to budget myself under £40 and would think my quarry would be mainly Rabbits, Squirels and Pigeons, shooting at day and night.

Can anyone offer me any advice on this subject or recommend a suitable scope?

Thanks in advance.

Axe.

What gun is it ? i ask this because i started shooting with an old hw95 and like you i had a budget of £40 to £50 how ever it was not choosing a scope to be a problem but finding one that would last a desent amount of time because with spring air rifles you get a bit of recoil from the spring which i found broke a couple of my scopes inside making them loose, in the end i saved up a bit more money and brought a nikko sterling gold crown that was shock proof and it is still going strong to this day. so my advise would be to maybe if you can spend a bit more and make it last longer.

The rifle I beleive to be an SMK? Like all things i've learned fairly quickly that I would be better getting a good second hand riffle and kit. But, 'only fools rush in' and I want to get a feel for the sport before I start getting to committed financially.

The only reason the rifle was donated to me was due to the fact, my buddy was sick and tired of the scopes jumping around on it and chose to purchase an HW57 instead!!!!