Crow shooting

sharkboy

Hello All,

Total newbie to forums and shooting. Been out with good shooters to learn safety etc. pigeon, night flighted ducks, pheasant driven and rough walked up shoots. Now striking out on my own, to practice I thought as I have access to crows to start there. I have a pigeon roost and had a go but realise I am more likely to ruin it until my shooting improves, there will be more questions about pigeons soon enough. But right now I would really appreciate some advice about crow shooting, well getting them to come to you constantly. I know this sort of thing takes years and lots of trial and error but some pointer would be greatly received.

I have just taken up shooting both .22LR and shotgun 12g Beretta (P Berretta ?) 680 30" an older gun but immaculate and I like shooting with it for now, 28g 7.5 and 30g 6 similar success with both but see everyone suggests 30g 6 so will stick with them. I was given 14 cradles for dead birds 4 of which come with wing spreader bars, I also have 3 crow decoys. I have tended to get a few rooks with the rimmy to increase my numbers before a decoy session.

1) is there a ratio of walking/feeding decoys to flying (wing spread) ones as I have noticed if I have low numbers in a pattern 6 walking/feeding and 3 flyers it seems to put others off. But have better success with a flyer or two in the pattern than without.

2) is this a number (to few), ratio or placement issue. I attempt to leave an area clear 20-25 yards out and use the walkers at mates to land with, in kind of a L shaped pattern and the flyers as others coming to join them, either on the outer edge of the pattern or at the back like birds flying in low to land.

3) I would like to add a flapper too, but where in relationship to the kill zone and other decoys.

I have read as much as I can and hear what everyone is saying about if its not working change things so this is the reason for these question