Calibre choice guide: .177 .20 .22 .25

2spring

Calibre choice guide for Air Rifles – a personal opinion

Although the personal skill/experience aspect of shooting is very important, there is information available from skilled people and manufacturers who have done proper tests both in the field and on the range. I don’t know the full answer and I am not an expert - but you don’t have to be to be able to read other peoples test results and opinions. Personal accuracy is absolutely essential if you are hunting. However, good technical information is also essential if you want to make the best personal choice of equipment.

I have read a lot of published tests and anecdotal evidence on the internet. Getting to grips with ballistics was very difficult to start with, and I still find it very complicated. I have to say though, if you strip out legacy opinion and subjective opinion the picture to me does not now appear too confusing. Anyway here goes:

8 to 10ft/lb ultra low recoil for shorter range targets

>> Go for .177

Reasons:

A recoiling .177 rifle which has been well tuned and is running at between 8 and 10 ft/lb may well have a recoil reduced to the point where the gun gives excellent accuracy at ranges where its low power is not a disadvantage (Eg. Shorter range targets). It still will not compete effectively with a non-recoiling gun like a PCP but it will be more accurate against 12ft/lb springers at shorter range.

11.5ft/lb non-recoiling for targets:

>> Go for .177

Reasons:

Accuracy (flat trajectory). For non-recoiling rifles there is no contest in choice of calibre: .177 is the best trajectory at sub 12ft/lb. The trajectory of .177 is slightly better than .20 and much better than .22. at sub 12ft/lb. The trajectory of .25 at sub 12ft/lb is appalling.

11.5ft/lb non-recoiling for hunting:

>> Go for .20

Reasons: