using crow decoys?

young airgunner

hi there, i have just got 3 grow decoys and was wondering what is the best way to put them too use. i have a camo net and know how to make a hide, i was just wondering how i should position them etc. any helpful hints or tips are very much appreciated. by the way, i will be using a airgun

cheers james

I'm no expert on this but from what ive read your best bet is to arrange them facing in the same direction and into the wind/breeze. Get a previously shot rabbit and lay it on it's back so that the white belly fur is showing and arrange as though one of the birds is eating, or if you want cut the belly open. This works best under common flight paths of the birds or near popular perching spots.

not really sure to be honest but I think it must be to do with incoming birds checking out the area.....maybe checking what the other 'birds' on the ground are spotting I suppose. If/when you get some more crow decoys, a good idea would be to put one on a fence post or loft in low branches of a nearby tree, again not directly facing the hide. It makes them a little less weary when incoming as they think there is already a sentry bird covering the area.

well for me 35 yards out and any old how, me and my mate where out last weekend and

he put the 6 crow deeks out in the dark and when we got set up and looking out of the hide

he put them in two rows off three and and the crows still landed in them and he shot more than me.

By the way when we shoot with the air rifles we use one of those pop up hides and stay nice and

dry and shoot through the windows--brill :lol:

If/when you get some more crow decoys, a good idea would be to put one on a fence post or loft in low branches of a nearby tree, again not dirctly facing the hide. It makes them a little less weary when incoming as they think there is already a sentry bird covering the area.

That is a brilliant idea.

I am going to have to try it tomorrow :lol: