Plucking and drawing a goose

flexouk

Hi All,

Was beating on a small shoot today and have walked away with a goose. 8 guns, 91 pheasants, 29 duck and 9 geese!!!

My friend shot two of the geese so has given me one. The only thing is I've never done a goose before. Has anyone got any tips or links to a page that may help.

Thanks for looking, Phil

You need to get it done quick as the weather is so warm it will go off fast. I just cut the breasts off te bird as other wise they take up too much room in the freezer. Otherwise pluck and draw in the same was as any other bird. Remember not to let the meat dry out when cooking it as wild goose has very little fat in it.

There are many different methods for preparing a goose. The quick or lazy way is to debreast the bird and cut the legs off, the whole package can be wrapped in tinfoil and roasted. Another way is to gut the bird then skin it, saves alot of time again but does not look great.

The way I do it is mainly for presentation but also holds the flavour better IMO with skin on. I pluck the bird including the first three or four inches of the neck from the body. I also only pluck the first two or three inches of the wings from the body. Plucking takes time but I have found no quick way. I take a knife and quickly cut round the flesh of the wing to the bone more or less flush withe body, I then using a pair of secateurs to cut through the wing bone. This can be quite tough, you can also use a meat cleaver or even a small axe. So that is the wings off, you loose a little meat but not much and plucking them is a real pain.

About two inches away from the body I cut through the skin on the neck, then peel the skin back and using the secatuers to cut through the neck bone flush with the body, I then free up the windpipe and oesophagus using my fingers so they are loose in the wish bone area.