Side by Side Technique.

Norrie

Hiya, More info needed please... :hmm:

I was out doing a bit rough shooting on one of my permissions this morning, and met an old friend I hadnt seen for ages...he was walking his dog..., it turns out, he has a SGC, I didnt know about that, and he didnt know I had mine either... :yes: and he has a couple of Shottys..which he hasnt used for a couple of years....one of which is a Baikal sxs...and i'm going to be the new owner...Wooohoooo...:lol: Gun owners are such nice people...:P

So, anyway... he was telling me ( I use a Rizzini O/U ) that there is a slightly different technigue in using SXS compared to an O/U.....is that true??...if so, what is it :yes:....being a total newbie to Shottys in general...I've not got a clue...:D

Thanks in advance guys.. :no:

Also SxS game guns are sighted differently to O/U Clay guns and shoot flat often meaning the target is hidden by the barrel at the critical moment not a big issue jut one to be aware of, try patterning when you get it to see how it shoots.

Ahhhhh, So, there is a difference.?? :unsure:...Well, I do know the Baikal I bought has two triggers...but as its paid for...and I'm collecting it tomorrow...I'll persevere with it...:hmm:

Thanks for the replies guys...much appreciated..:welcomeani:

I use both, but much prefer the SBS, generally because they are a bit lighter, although my Fausti is quite heavy, I was told by a chap who has used them for 40yrs plus that the shot rises a bit and to aim a little lower, I must admit that after he told me this (and subsequently read it) that it was the case, so at 30 - 40yrds on rabbits I aim around the foot area and always hit the body bang on. obviously the further away the target is the shot starts falling away. I have been shooting many years and still find I am learning all the time, and will no doubt continue to do so.