feed effects

darren m

Im no expert but have been told the following by a trainer I know who works with BASC and a relative who is a vet.

They both told me to avoid food which is not a "natural" colour ie red, green etc. Apparently the colours are like sugar or e-numbers in kids.

They also told me to avoid food with large percentages of cereals and vegetable matter. The trainer told me that he has had more dogs with hyperactive and aggresive tendancies on one particular brand of food than any other.

I have a work collegue who used to be a chemist for one of the top end dog foods. The bulker they use for that one is the waste from the manufacture of chocolate bars. On their advice I took my Cocker off Beta Puppy and onto BARF. He certainly seems calmer now but thats probably just an age thing.

The way I think about it is a dog is basically a Wolf. I aint ever seen Wolf eating cereals or waste from a chocolate factory. I have seen Wolfs eating meat and bones however.

No doubt someone will be on here soon saying the opposite so who knows.

Edited by fortune82

if you have you dog/dogs on a good balanced food you will know when something is not right. try giving one of them a handful of bakers or pedigree and than you will have your answer, bakers is a real eye opener but pedigree is just as bad.lmao.

some may also notice that their dog /dogs will eat a sack of food with not problems then the next sack they may have a feed or two from and then turn their nose up at it. they haven't gone off the food as such but the new sack has a different make up of meat. i was told a while ago not to feed a dog were the sack sells it as a % of meat. look for food with % of one meat, like 'minimum of 30% chicken' reason is they might only get 10ton of beef and 3 ton of chicken on one delivery and then the next might be 5ton of pork, 3 of beef and 5 of chicken/turkey. so they still have 13 ton of meat but its different meats.