Which Rifle for Foxes & Occasional Roe Deer?

lawesy

Guys - your advice appreciated on this one......

I am lucky enough to have shooting on my Brother-in-Law's farm in Dorset (500 acres) and have been using a shotgun there for a while now for pheasants, pigeons and rabbits.

My brother-in-law has indicated that he would give his permission for me to use a rifle to shoot foxes and the occasional roe deer, of which there are many on the land.

I have no experience of rifle shooting and understand that I need to apply for a FAC, but is there a calibre of rifle that would be appropriate for both foxes and deer and if so, what would you recommend as a first rifle?

Yes, I realise I'm a lucky plonker, but would really appreciate some expert opinion and advice.

Many thanks in anticipation.

For fox and Roe deer your best bet would be a .243, a bit much for the rabbits though.

I'm not sure on legal requirements (minimum calibre) but it'll be on the B.A.S.C website somewhere.

The Tikka rifles are very popular and seem to have quite a following so you can't really go wrong there. Oh! And you are a very lucky *****r! :huh::lol:

You are slightly limited as what you require is what the police will class a dual purpose calibre.

It varies from area to area, so it may be worth checking with your firearms officer before you apply, but where I live a .243 or 6.5x55 would be the obvious candidates.

I would also ask them what they would expect from you (don't give them any clues) to be able to apply for a rifle like that, over and above permission from your brother in law.

It is great oppertunity, and I don't want to burst your bubble in any way, but they may want you to be mentored by someone if you have no previous firearms experience.

For fox and Roe deer your best bet would be a .243, a bit much for the rabbits though.

I'm not sure on legal requirements (minimum calibre) but it'll be on the B.A.S.C website somewhere.