Novice after advice re morning or afternoon...

jamez79

Hi,

I've got permission to shoot over a pea crop and will be going for the first time next week. I am a novice to decoying and have been reading as much as I can on here. However I can't find advice on the best time of day to go and get set up for a morning or afternoon session.

I gather there is no definitive answer, but would just like to know what sort of time to get there in the morning or afternoon so I'm not arriving too late or far too early in the day. I'm in the midlands if that assists.

Many thanks in advance,

James

Guest stevo

Where abouts in the Midlands james?

I can see now , I was on my phone and your location didn't show . no matter

as Jdog says ..... go watch it . your the only one who will know when there there mate

Edited by stevo

Hi,

Thanks for the replies. I do intend to go watch the fields, but was just wondering if there was a 'peak' time as I didn't want to go sit in the field at 6am if the birds don't start coming over until 10am. For example.

Is afternoon generally better than mornings? I work shifts so am just trying to work out dates for my diary to plan around family life, work etc.

I'm in South Staffs.

Thanks

The only way you will learn is just to go and sit up and watch and that may be from 6am to 8pm. I probably spend more time watching than shooting.

By the way most dedicated pigeon shooters have no family life, no social life and when they are at work they think of nothing other than pigeon shooting.

Edited by JDog

Guest stevo

the birds can hit that field at time , that's of course if they have found it , you will have to watch that field to see if they are hitting it , just because there are peas there don't think for one min that its going to a sure thing , I have loads of peas around me but the birds will rather spend there days on spring rape ( around here )

what stage are your peas at ?

stevo

Guest stevo