can you help me

young airgunner

hi there, im new to air gunning and have just brought a cheap rifle to shoot away with. the rifle i have is a b3-f. when i have been shooting it, it doesnt seem to b as powerful as others have said and people say it can take out piegeons but im not to sure. any help would be great, cheers james

hello and welcome,

im sitting looking at the exact same type of airgun as a freind of mine has just dropped it off for me to set the sights, to be honest with you i dont think it would be accurate enough to kill a pigeon as you really need to make sure your going to be able to hit it in the head for a clean kill and these guns although quite powerful for a "fun gun" are certainly not up to the job of hunting and would probably just wound the birds. i would suggest you use it mainly for target practice and getting a good technique sorted until you can get a gun better suited to hunting.

I dont reccomend doing it BUT when i first started i had the exact same gun in .22 i found it plenty accurate out to 20 yards and took a fair few bunnies and pigeons with it. As a starter gun i think its ok you will soon upgrade though mate to a decent springer like a weirauch or bsa. :P

Get plenty of practice in with the B3 till you can save enough for one thats a tad better :good:

B3 good enough for garden plinking and close range target work etc.

As someone stated on a recent post the best thing to do is set targets out at 5 yard intervals

10 yards 15 yards 20 yards 25 yards and so on

Take a few shots at each target and find where the rifle starts to lose its consistency to group within a size of a 50p piece

If this is your FIRST gun then you will ALSO need to get a propper feel for it as PCP and Springers are from entirely different stables

A spring gun is Lively it will jump when fired etc and as such you need to hold the gun EXACTLY the sae way (grip pressure etc) for every shot to get consistant hits.