Power to make clean kill

Marine1980

Sorry to bother you all but im new to shooting and as well as shot gun shooting im also interested in doing a bit of Rabit Shooting on a local farm that has a problem.

The Question is i dont mind shooting any vermin as long as i get a clean kill and have the power in the gun to do this, What sort of power does the air gun that i use need to have in order for me to kill these bunnies humanley??

I wouldnt use anything bellow 11ftlbs. I have tried it, and its just a mess.. youl regret using your old grandads BSA Meteor.

If you want to 'do a bit of rabbit shooting', you will need to have the right kit. Either you go all the way and buy a full power 12ftlbs rifle, or use your shotgun, because out of respect for the quarry, its good to have a clean kill.

You need between 10.5Ftlbs/12ftlbs. Anything less is simply inefficient and anything above that your going to need a FAC. Ideally you need to hit them at ranges out to 50 yards max really as well. Hope it helps

-Andrew

Hi Skyfox, What rifle are you using? Do you really manage clean kills up to 50 yards? Thats very impressive shooting. What range have you zeroed your scope to? I guess you hold over for the 50 yard shots. Just curious as I am going to upgrade and don't want to make the same mistakes that I made when I brought my springer.

Cheers.

How and what is the process for getting an FAC?

At the moment i own a Rat catcher air rifle which i was given about two years ago, on the specificatins is mentions 500ft/lbs not sure what this means but it couldnt put a hole in a wet paper bag!!!

Lee

At the moment i own a Rat catcher air rifle which i was given about two years ago, on the specificatins is mentions 500ft/lbs not sure what this means but it couldnt put a hole in a wet paper bag!!!

Lee