Starting out homebrewing

ace_of_hearts

I am a total novice but want to start homebrewing.

What would be a good foolproof 'all in one' kit to get me started on and where is the best place to get them?

Are some kits better quality than others? I guess it is worthwhile to get better kit to start of to re-use on future batches.

Also how long does it take from setting up to drinking?

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Big plastic fermentation bucket with a tap at the bottom. Big pressure barrel with a float and top-tap. I got my kit from these guys http://www.youngshomebrew.co.uk/beer%20equipment%20home.htm

Then you can shop around and get the mix kits for Cider/Lager/Ale or whatever you fancy. I've currently got 20L of hard cider on the go for less that 40p a pint, its just finished primary fermentation and will be barrelled to get fizzy either tonight or tomorrow. Total time until first pint; about 21-30 days.

All the best with getting drunk off your own brew, its a great feeling! Even better than just getting drunk!

Zapp as the orical on homebrew could you recommend a nice ale and larger that I can brew have treid a few now but there not great .

Im talking Kits not brae enough for the whole hops and malt experience yet

atb Jim

For lager, I'd go for one of the Coopers kits - I've done the Aussie Lager in the past and it turned out really well.

Where ale is concerned, without a doubt go for Woodefordes Wherry - a slightly more expensive kit but the results are very good.

You will improve beer kits that require the addition of sugar to the fermenter if you use a Beer Kit Enhancer, which is basically 50% dry malt extract and 50% brewing sugar, or if you use just dry malt extract instead. This will increase the price per pint, but they make a real difference. The Wherry does not need sugar, so the extra cost is negated.