AYA No2, should I buy?

gadgit

Hi all.

I'm new to the shot gun world but have been reading up (as you do)

I've been advised to go for an O/U from all the stores and this seems ok to me, until My man next door offers me his gun. Two options are in my head with this gun which is an AYA No2. serial 184679. At first it seems a good gun, but there are a couple of small dents in the left tube? I've tried to photo them with some success but its not easy to capture the dents. He bought the gun about ten years ago and it seems to me that the serial No suggests it an 1960-65 made gun.

So, the dents in the left tube?? are they critical for the gun? can they be pressed or driven out, do they need to be removed, he says the gun shoots fine.

Cost of repair would be?

And of course its a S/S which does look great, 26inch barrells.

whats he want for it? £500, with a steel gun cabinet, and carry case.

My thoughts are, I could use it to learn with, sell it on and get an O/U at a later date if I wanted to? I just don't want to buy trouble for my fist gun.

But it is sooooo pretty!!

2007_1214first0002.jpg

2007_1214first0001.jpg

2007_1214first0004.jpg

IMG]http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd193/gadgit1/2007_1214first0006.jpg[/img]

2007_1214first0001.jpg

2007_1214first0006.jpg

Guest The Outlaw

Can you see signs of the dents inside the barrels, if you can it is a big problem and I personally wouldnt shoot it.

The best thing to do is get it to a gunsmith and have it checked over.

Tony

I can see this dent here quite clearly and you might see the results of that on the inside of the barrels too. £500 quid and there are dents evident, stuff that, keep looking, you can get a decent O/U for £500!!! Besides, is an SxS double trigger really the gun to start shooting with if you have £500 to burn?

post-3070-1197666192.jpg