Red Setters

showandgo

Hi there,

There is some great information on this forum, unfortunately I am still a bit of novice so I am more of a lurker and a contributed.

I am wondering if anyone has any experience with Red Setters?

I am looking into getting one and I’m looking for some info on things like: the nature of the dog, feeding, health, exercise, obedience training and field trial/hunting training etc.

I plan on following a couple of the pinned topics above but after that I am not too sure. So if any one has any tips or can recommend a couple of good books I’d be grateful.

Thanks.

The biggest tip I can give you on Red Setters is to get out with both of the parents and see them hunt, point, stand to shot and retrieve. There are some good ones out there......got my **** kicked by a 12 year old girl running a Red in a pheasant compitition :good:........but you will look hard for them.

Pointers train different from flushers and retrievers, and I highly suggest you get the obediance on them starting right at 8 weeks.

Once you get a pup sorted....take your time doing this as it is important.......I am sure we can find you some help on here.

NTTF

What sort of shooting do you do, what do you intend to use the dog for? The reason I ask is that there may be other breeds of dogs more suitable for your needs, and (don't take this the wrong way) if you are a novice trainer I don't think the red setter is an ideal dog to cut your teeth on.

If there are people around you that have the breed and can give you help and advice, all well and good,if not you may struggle.

Whatever you decide, good luck.

Rick.

Don’t worry, I know where you are coming from. From what I have read on the online they can be more challenging than other breeds.