decoys

thinxs

Hello, I'm a bit new to pigeon shooting. Went out the other day with some decoys set up on the converted coathanger as shown on this site somewhere. Some birds did come down after about six minutes, when they had left (I missed them) other birds flew down but failed to stop and flew off just as quick. Any ideas about what was wrong?

Hello and thanks for resonding. I'm trying to shoot them with a 12 bore side x side.

The aim is to shoot them whilst in flight, as it doesn't really give them a chance if they're sat on the ground. As long as your pattern is 25-35 yards away, you shouldn't have too much trouble shooting them, just give them a chance to get about 6/10 feet off the ground so they are fully committed to landing in your pattern.

When I first started I had a problem that I shot them far too far out and didn't let them come in to land.

If you've got land to shoot on, there are plenty of people on this forum who will gladly take you out and teach you some extra tips. I highly recommend it, as I've learnt a lot from shooting with a few people off this forum.

Thank you. I know that I will be shooying them up off the ground. I was just out reckeying (although had gun with me and couldn't resist the chance) and had set out the decoy's just to see how effective they are. The birds that swoopped in were moving really fast and I don't think that they had any intention of landing.

plz dont take offence bud but if you cant hit a doo with a shotgun on the ground at 25/35 yrds i would seriously be thinking about a bit of clay tuition to get you set up .

frustration is not the word if you have bad days but your only gonna spoil the enjoyment/great days shooting if your not set up with your gun correctly.

if you apply for a motorcycle lisence you must go through a basic handling course b4 you get on the road cbt .id hope that when people get a shotgun cert. they would consider a basic demo and safety tuition .