tested decoys in the garden

Hello to you all,

I am new to this game and I've just got a dozen decoys, I decided to set them out in the back garden for a few hours to see if this decoying is effective as its sounds.

Well guys I was amazed to count 11 pigeons within an hour come falling out of the sky showing a real interest in my decoys. non of them landed but all fell into a good shooting range with three of them landing on the garden fence, and cooing at the decoys for 5 minutes before flying off.

I am going for some recces over the next few days untill I get my pigeon magnet delivered, but I am much more confiedant that i will bag some on my first outing on the decoys.

I have shot just walking through the woods for the last couple of years and I'm thinking that I have been missing out on some top class sport, but I too will have some pigeons to my name over the next year I'm sure.

Are there any more novice decoyers out there like me and if so what were your results on your first outing?

It seems by reading some of the topics that I have chosen a difficult month to put a good bag together. What are the best months for pigeon shooting?

Bye for now

Happy Shooting

Justin

Good luck with your shooting and welcome to the wonderfull world of pigeon shooting.

Pigeons are breeding at present and my mates and I leave them alone at this time of year untill about the middle of July just to give them a chance during the first breeding season of the year but thats just our personal choice.

Your could try shooting other vermin at this time of year eg crows/magpies/rooks, they can be good sport and help the farmers.

your results on your first outing?

What are the best months for pigeon shooting?

Welcome to the wonderful sport of pigeon shooting PM.