SEMI AUTOS

deputy dog

Hi all, i'v just aquired my first ever shotgun licence, though i have been shooting with a close friend for a few years on private land using one of his guns. Obviously now i cant wait to purchase my own gun, and thats where you lot can come in handy with some advice for me if you please. I'm used to shooting O/U and S/S as they are the guns my friend owns. But i'm drawn to buying a SEMI AUTO for my 1st gun. I'v little if any experience with this type of gun and i'm just wondering if they are any good because i have heard off one or two fellow guns mixed reports about them, one good and one bad. So i'm putting it to the wider audience for advice, should i stick to what i'm used to shooting or go for it and buy a SEMI AUTO.

Ps

Any advice would be gratefully received to putting me on the right track.

:D:good::yes:

my personal collection, all of them are Berettas other than the winney sx2, they work there reliable and they do what i want, as do many other makers out there.

my thoughts from your post is a cost issue, people who buy an auto first seem to think its the way to go for a multi purpose gun, cheaper than a O/U or SxS.

that being said, you mentioned you shoot break guns now, why change your style other than cost, im sure if you look around you will find a decent 2nd hand gun in your price range, you sya you have no experience with this style of gun, can you explain then what draws you to it other than what i have mentioned?

as you say at the end, should i stick with what im used to, i say yes for your first purchase, you have plenty of time to expand your knowledge and experience in shotgunning.

Martin.

p.s. under the UK SHOOTWHAREHOUSE sign at the top right you will see "SEARCH" click and type in semi auto, grad a large cup of tea or coffee and read your heart out, plenty of info from members on autos, good luck. :yes: