Positioning bouncers, and a second Q on deeks in general

John_R

Whereabouts in relation to the deeks should bouncers really be placed? So far I have only tried one bouncer near the downwind end of the pattern, but I am wondering if it should be further back, and am none too sure what to do with more than one.

Also, I have got a mix of shells, full body (flexicoy) and just got some Sillosocks. Is there a best way to mix them up, or is random a good idea?

I believe my bouncer/floaters are supposed to represent birds about to land at the back of the pattern, so I position them "on the wings/either side " at the rear of the pattern facing into the wind.

I have mixed full bodied and shell decoys in my layouts just as they came out of the bag, no particular order or placement.

Thank you, that makes sense. This is my first year in the shotgun sports and the learning curve is still pretty steep!

The crops I have shot over only recently got interesting to pigeons, so I have not yet had that many chances to watch and learn. Most of the time the wind has been from the left, and I have managed to entice birds to come in from the right. Last time the wind veered round to my back, so they were coming at me, and then pulling up to try and clear the hide and the tree I was beneath. I did wonder if I had got things a little bit wrong with the layout, but I was taking them almost like driven birds, often only 15 yards out but fairly high.

As for the deeks, this is laid barley so I was mostly using the shells anyway, simply lying them onto the flattened stems, but the long spike of the Sillosocks would reach down to the ground.

Edited by john_r

Careful john_r, you will have the politically correct after you, it's pest control not sport.