Pigeon scaring

Hello

I am brand new to the sport of pigeon shooting (or in my case pigeon scaring) and need a bit of advice.

My main problem seems to be lead (deflection), I bought a gun after having some practice on clays with other guns and rather niavely went out after work and had a pop. I defenitly got close and I suspect one or two of the pigeons may have soiled themselves but from 10 cartridges no kills. 10 cartridges was a bad idea too, i thought it would be like rifle shooting, fire a shot and wait for half an hour but it was quite fast paced.

I've read that people use bum body beak bang on seperate topics im just confused as to from what direction that works. I.e. im its the same for left to right as quartering.

I will be taking the gun (i can call it a gun now without people getting angry as oppose to rifles :lol:) to the shooting school and getting some practice but I would just appreciate the advice.

Ohh and try and keep the tongue in cheek to a minimum; it just makes it confusing :lol:

I had a shoot that often had standing water. It really helped to fire and see how long the shot took to arrive. Once you get a feel for that delay you can work it into your normal shooting as a starting point. I was surprised that some crossing birds needed 10+ feet of lead. If you can't find a big puddle then some dusty ground will do, or the bolting rabbit at a clay shoot.

If you are missing a lot give more lead than you think is needed, you might be stopping the swing just as you decide to shoot, if you start to connect then you could work on that swing.

I'm no expert by a long long way, but these have helped me to hit the occasional pigeon.

Still a bit confused about this bum belly beak bang principle. Is it meant to be said at a particular cadence whilst pulling through the target or what?

The idea of it being a guess is great but at the moment i dont know where to start guessing.

The only thing ive learnt is not to shoot where i was shooting :lol: