New to the sport

gwb

Hi All

I am new to the sport. Having had a try at the recent gamefair with my son. We got on ok but would like to give it another go.

I have a few questions, if anyone could answer them, it would be much appreciated.

I have recently applied for my SGC and the cheque has just been cashed, roughly how long could I expect to wait for my visit? I live in Buckinghamshire.

My nearest gunshop is Country Pursuits in Rickmansworth and they advertise lessons, I intend to take a few then have a couple more with my son. Has anyone had lessons from the Instructor there? If so how did you get on?

I intend to eventually go pigeon shooting when Ive blown away the cobwebs [ used to shoot twenty odd years ago, pretty much forgot everything including fieldcraft] can anyone suggest how I go about finding somewhere to shoot?

What is the best Clay discipline to practice with the intention of eventually shooting pigeons and rabbits?

A [3 gun] Gun cabinet what is the average cost?

At the gamefair I was told I had to keep one eye closed. Those that do this how do you get on? As I have read mixed reports about using various other techniques [easy hit,tape etc]

Thanks for your time

hello and welcome :good: i think when the cheque is cashed that starts the application process. as for discipline i would think skeet would be good for pigeon shooting and sporting is a great help too even if a little harder. a gun cabinet should be no more than 100£ keep an eye in the free ads for a bargain :good: . i shoot with both eyes open suits me better but everyone is different. good luck

:yes: to you gwb.

Hope your sgc application goes through for you quickly. The turnround for applications seems to vary wildly from region to region. Some are pretty quick, others are somewhat slower.