rape shooting today

Matt Gould

hello guys im fairly new to decoying, been out on the rape today after seeing 150 + eating it all week. i knew esacly where to put my hide because i have been studying where i have been eating, problem is i got one or two but then they left, not to return i put a couple of flags out as well where i thought they where going to go down again but didnt realy help. can any body help me shoot more ??? do i need to leave em to feed for a couple of weeks to get more confiden, put less decoys out? put different decoys out .......... ?????? i have been using 20appox decoys + 2 floater+ 1 flapper, any suggestions Hmmmmmm

It might be nothing you have done.The pigeons may not have read the same book as you.This time of year my own experience is that when the pigeons are in flocks you have a shot and they go elsewhere.They might come back later but it is frustrating.If they are avoiding your pattern then change it.But pigeons does not want to play sometimes and nothing you do seems to bring them to you.Try and get out with someone who has been doing it a while you might pick up some tips.

Agree with first poster, you probably did nothing wrong. That's how it is on rape sometimes.

Tips I can give are to walk the birds off the field, don't take any shots when you arrive, this way you hope that they might come back a few at a time. Some people say if a big flock comes in not to shoot it because you frighten them all away, so choose your shots to smaller numbers. And lastly, if you have a lot of rape fields, get more guns out so that hopefully you can bounce the birds between you.

Rape shooting can be both fun and equally frustrating. You often see large numbers, in thousands sometimes, but that doesn't guarantee big bags.

Cos

Agree with first poster, you probably did nothing wrong. That's how it is on rape sometimes.