Muddy Funker

Hi Guys,

don't ask my why but the more I'm looking into this the more I'd like to give it a try.

Swmbo will hopefully be qualifying as a Chiropractor next year so this marks the end of being skint for 5 years :good:

As this will be freeing up a little cash I was looking at taking on a new hobby, I don't really do much other than shooting, a little fishing, camping ect.

It must be a real buzz being able to fly around with a couple of mates, maybe even the Mrs would enjoy it.

Looks like there's a few places in Sussex, Fly Sussex being the one that's caught my eye.

It's gonna be a couple of years before I can start but I always throw myself into things and start absorbing info hence the reason for this thread.

Anyone here do it? Is it amazing? Pitfalls? Hints and tips? Which forum to start learning some theory?

Basically I just need to be pointed in the right direction (up a hill maybe?)

Thanks for your time :)

Hi Muddy Funker,

I'm a club pilot (BHPA). Happy to give you more info and idea on what it is like - PM me.

In the meantime, have a look at the BHPA website first and you'll find some clubs/schools close to you. There aren't many (safe) clubs that will let you fly without being a member, having insurance and a qualification. There is a hell of a lot to learn and it is potentially a life-ending sport.... conversely, do everything right, get the training...and it's a truly life liberating sport!

I am assuming you are meaning paragliding, and not paramotoring (where you have an engine strapped to your back)?!?

I will reiterate again, proper training is a must. I tried doing the paramotoring outside of the national body - I nearly died and have never tried it again. I now stick to the purer side of paragliding, with a wing, harness and thermals!

My last major trip was to the the alps... A. MAZING.

huff-huff-a-r-oo

Edited by huffhuff