Shooting Glasses

This is my first year shooting and due to the sunny weather lately I've found I'm particularly sensitive to a bright sky. My cap is no longer enough to sheild the sun and I need to get some glasses as my eyes end up streaming. I borrowed some Napier glasses on one of the stands last week (with interchangeable lenses) and they were a relevation. My problem is that they retail for over £50 and I'm baulking a little at the outlay.

Can any of you guys advise if you think the Napier glasses are worth it or if there are any decent (cheaper)alternatives.

SDP,

When it comes to glasses, you get what you pay for matey, I now use a pair of Zeiss shooting glasses that cost me over £200, but they give me perfect vision, 'cos there's a tad of prescription in them, which I need 'cos I spend all day gazing at a VDU screen..!! :stupid:

I've tried the Topgun jobbies at £20 a set, but ditched them pretty quickly as they were next to useless..!!

Cat.

I bought Oakleys after trying Jonseys.

The lenses are very good and you can't even tell you are wearing them.

I got a set with 3 interchangable lenses, however, I still haven't managed to change the lenses for fear of breaking them - they snap in and out, but I am too much of a coward.

Mungler,

I'm told there virtually unbreakable, even for a hamfist like you, so do as Jonesy does, invest in a set..!! :stupid:

Cat.

Cat,

I bought a set, but I have been using the lenses that came in the glasses - there are two extra lenses (un used in the box).

When we meet next you can show me how to break a set, I mean change the lenses.

M

Oakley M Frames are expensive yes but good.

Ebay no doubt will have some Foakley's if you want that shape but don't want the cost of real Oakleys. Although I wouldn't fancy your chances of being able to change the lenses. Mungler, that's not your problem is it?

Also cyclists use a similar array of lenses to us so no need to stick to the shooting type glasses if you need to be thrifty.