I got bored

strimmer_13

Well it's a nothing post really, just showing what anyone can do if they get bored with a old bit of stock. 

Recently I posted that I was going to a auction and i picked up 4 guns. 2 x 12bores and a bsa meteor mk4 and a bsa scorpion (it was in a James bond film but by God its ugly). Surprisingly all were in good working order. But staring at that meteor I thought that was a boring bit off wood. I started shooting with a smk b45-3 in .22 and a meteor mk4. Then a mk 3 and then a mk1 then supersport. 

Anyway I've been lucky enough to warrant blowing £40 in case I screwed this up as work is taking off as the light stays out longer. I thought I'd have a go at 'pimping' the stock. Excuse the expression. But I'd always wanted a go so I thought sod it and got the chisels out. 

First off I hated the shape of the cheek piece. Practical but bland. Unfortunately I took no photos of it before I started marking in out but Google images will show you what I mean. 

I didn't have any ideas of what to do and didn't do any research so free handed the lot. 

First up mark it out on top of the masking tape. Then got my dremel out and cut thin lines roughly where I wanted it. Absolutely bricking it at this point but I always was a bit rash. 

Then I got the chisels out and started to take sections off. At a later point I realised the butt pad comes off easier than I thought. 

20180407_183657-2241x3984.jpg

20180413_144818-2241x3984.jpg

20180413_161753-3984x2241.jpg

Edited by strimmer_13

skipped a fair bit of sanding there. Also at this stage I realised it was too fat below so had to mark out loads more to take off. Sanding, sanding, files, rasps and finally got to a point I liked. 

Took a chunk out the top too while I was there. Probably should of left it but to hell with it I done it anyway. 

20180414_125140-3984x2241.jpg