Pattern a Shotgun?

Vegeta

Hey folks as the 1st of September is approaching I am going to pattern my benelli. It is something I have never done with a shotgun before so I was just wondering how is it done

what size target should I be shooting at and what distances etc?

Thanks in advance

Veg

I shot a pattern plate only to make sure that the shot was hitting where i pointed it, i wasn't analysing the actual pattern.

Target Size: I used a cardboard box flattened out. Flattened it must have been 5foot by 3 1/2 foot (ish). Teh box shown the shot pattern very well but you need a new one each time. Maybe your local clay club has a steel plate, ring around and ask.

Distance: i would take an educated guess at this but if you're analysing the pattern then you need to be at the same distance from the pattern plate(or cardboard box!) that you intend to shoot from while in the field.

I'm sure someone will be along to tell you just to stick 1/4 choke in and not worry yourself with the headache of it all. :oops:

When I was having some gun fit problems my local gunsmith done a pattern check in person with my problem gun.

He set a true pattern plate made out of cardboard from one of the cartridge makers, which was a 30" circle which quadrants numbered 1-8 in the circle.

I mounted and snap shot 10 cartridges into the plate.

You cannot get a true representation of where you are shooting or how the cartridges are performing unless you fire around this number into the plate.

From the shot densites into the plate you will see how not only you are shooting but how your loads are performing.

Regards starlight32

brown packing paper and butchers paper work well too. Put out two 1" x 2" stakes and take a staple gun. Put up more paper than you think your pattern will cover by a long shot. You'd be surprised how open some chokes can be. If you are patterning at 40 yd, I'd suggest 5' x 5'.