Me And Trix after 1 Week's Training

ShaggyRS6

Probably setting myself up for some flak, hope not. Constructive comments are welcome though.

This is me and Trix after one week.

2 Sessions a day each session lasts 1 hour to 1 hour 30. Within that time period we do the training you can see in the vid, although I have condensed it down to 10 mins to show what we do (hence her getting a little bored)

Constructive comments would be welcome.

Videographer was my boy!!!! Not bad using my mates flip Video for the 1st time:)

Edited by ShaggyRS6

great video... well done to your lad :good:

Its hard to give CC as i am no expert...what I would say is........this works for me... try to relax a little... you seem to be getting frustrated when trixi doesn't do what she is told 1st time..... SLOW SLOW SLOW ..a dog will pick up your vibes..

if she don't sit at distance... get her back, give 1 blow of the whistle then the command sit..also using the hand signal..do this every time she comes back to you....... she will then learn that 1 whistle blow = SIT............ at this stage....don't walk towards her..when you have given the command..stand still

the RECALL..... Give 3 clear blows of the whistle... call her. ( TRIXI COME) .pat your legs calling her name .. Be Exciting ....when she is close enough..give 1 blow...she should now SIT....make a small fuss of her (making sure she is still sitting) I don't use the WAIT command yet as the word SIT should cover this

I was told the other day 2 blows = change direction..that will come later.....

Dogs will only remember so many words....they dont know the meaning of them but they understand the sound... so keep the commands short and sweet :rolleyes:

you said in the Video ...." she is getting bord now" ........ i would say ..to much to quick .....