16 replies to this topic

#1 Gully

Gully
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Joined 12-November 06

Posted 17 March 2007 - 10:14 PM

I fitted a Theoben Gas Ram on my BSA Lightning XL today. Bit of a nightmare - because of the obviously and understandably sensitive issues of taking air rifles apart there isn't much about it on any of these forums but as a competent engineer I didn't see why I couldn't do it myself.

Anyway, in my research as to whether this was a sensible £60 to spend on my air rifle rather than upgrading to a PCP (yes I accept they are better rifles but the whole charging thing leaves me cold) I found a lot of talk about noise, recoil etc so I thought I'd make it a bit scientific.

Noise:
pinched the Db meter from work and under controlled conditions:
2m from muzzle at 90 degrees shooting out of my kitchen door.
BSA Lightning XL Springer (factory): 84dB
BSA Lightning XL with Theoben Gas Ram - 81dB

I'lll post some groupings when its light.

#2 naddan28

naddan28

Grumpy Student

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1510 posts
  • Joined 30-November 06

Posted 18 March 2007 - 12:38 PM

I fitted a Theoben Gas Ram on my BSA Lightning XL today. Bit of a nightmare - because of the obviously and understandably sensitive issues of taking air rifles apart there isn't much about it on any of these forums but as a competent engineer I didn't see why I couldn't do it myself.

Anyway, in my research as to whether this was a sensible £60 to spend on my air rifle rather than upgrading to a PCP (yes I accept they are better rifles but the whole charging thing leaves me cold) I found a lot of talk about noise, recoil etc so I thought I'd make it a bit scientific.

Noise:
pinched the Db meter from work and under controlled conditions:
2m from muzzle at 90 degrees shooting out of my kitchen door.
BSA Lightning XL Springer (factory): 84dB
BSA Lightning XL with Theoben Gas Ram - 81dB

I'lll post some groupings when its light.