Stripping and oiling a varnished gunstock

Toombsy

Could do with a bit of help if there's anyone out there who's done this...

Just bought a nearly new Browning B525 20-bore. The stock's really nice, but it's varnished. The varnish is scratched but not the stock, and I reckon oiling the stock will bring out the grain a treat.

I've got all the time in the world to sort this, and I have the patience and skills, but it's something I've never done before.

Few questions...

What's the best technique/chemical to strip off the old varnish? It's quite a thick coating on this gun.

How many times will I need to oil the stock before it's fully protected?

Is it absolutely crucial to use a grain filler after the stock and forend has been stripped and sanded?

Thanks

I did my Lanber (to get rid of the horrible wee smell :hmm: ) - Nitromors and wire wool to get rid of the laquer - Rub it all down well and then apply boiled linseed oil in a couple or more coats until you get the depth you want - Keep rubbing down between coats and then apply a wax finish at the end to make it shiny and watertight.

Just watch when you are rubbing down/cleaning out the chequering - You can get build ups of wood/polish/junk left in the chequering that's a swine to remove.

Another vote for Nitromors and wire wool (0000 grade preferably)

Work the nitromors in small areas and gradually work through the whole stock. An old tooth brush will be useful for the chequering.

Once you are satisfied the varnish has been removed wash down with warm water to remove excess nitromors and allow to dry.

As you will have been removing the varnish with wire wool, the wood should be in good condition to oil. What oil you use is down to personal choice, its the method of application that gets the results.

Dont use a 'sanding sealer' or similar prior to oiling, it sort of defeats the object. You want the oil to be absorbed into the wood for best effect. The oil will naturally seal the wood for you.