Rifle barrel twist.

Hi all. I'm after a little advice on rifle twist. I'm not completely in the dark and i know the basics about rate of twist of a bullet per so many inches of barrel needed to keep the bullet on the straight n narrow so to speak. But there a various rates of twists out there. And thats where you lot come into it. Can you give me any feed back on the various guns you you use with ceratin rates of twist. And if possible what ammo is best for the rate of twist in the barrel. It wont be long when my variations comes back, and i'l be off down to pick my first center fire up. I would like to be seen as knowing a little knowledge about the issue, then to be seen as a total novice and basically being sold a gun with the wrong ammo which aint going to be any good for it. I Know the smaller the bullet the less twist it needs an vice versa for the longer bullets. But i would be gratefull if any of you could enlighten me a bit more. By the way its a .223 i'l be going for.

ATB

Gareth

Edited by deputy dog

most .223 will come in 1 in 8 or 1 in 12.

I like the 1 in 12 as it shoots the 40 grainers fantastically and gives a nice flat trajectory. Only trouble is youre pretty much limited up to 55 grainers unless your rifle turns out not to be fussy on what it shoots. The 1 in 8 is better suited to the heavier bullets as a rule of thumb but as has been mentioned, you may get lucky and find your 1 in 8 will shoot lighter bullets as well.

The 40 grainers suit me down to the ground, and if If i want a heavier bullet for when its blowing a hoolie, il switch to 55's as they shoot well also.

In VERY simple terms the twist rate stabilizes the bullet. The tighter the twist the heavier the bullet and the longer the twist the lighter the bullet.

Now, that is the theory, but for some reason unknown to me, my Tikka T3 Lite Stainless .223 with a 1-8 twist seems pretty much at home with everything from 40-75g. :hmm::hmm: