apple cooker

new to the flock

Okay years ago my Uncle , who has passed away 12 years ago, told me about a contraption called a honey burn for attracting bears to your stand while hunting. Now I have used this device with great success over the years, and have killed alot of bears with it. Over the years I can only recall 2 other hunters ever using this device to hunt with, most fluffed it off as an old wives tale or a field joke. Those of us that did use it kept our mouths shut. I know I could smell one 1/2 a mile away when my buddy was using it at his stand one day.

Earlier this year I started playing with the burner to call in raccoons by slightly changing the ingedients. Started to use honey and a annise and was surprised at how well it worked. I was also surprised to start seeing a number of deer ghosting in and out of the area. Now I hunt with alot of scents during a season some of which are sexual such as doe estrus, and some curiosity such as food sources. I was putting the deer that I was seeing down to curiosity as the rut was not in effect yet.

So now I started to wonder how to use the burner deer hunting. At the start of season the rut was not in so was trying for a food scent that would bring deer in. Funny thing is got it right the very first time, 1/2 an apple and a small bottle of apple juice went into the burner. It was great watching deer travel 400 and 500 yards in a straight line homing in on the boiler, also had deer coming from god knows where from downwind in the timber. Had 2 deer walk in a straight line across one field from a neighbouring woodlot and basically put their noses on it.