Chocolate labradors

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have a chocolate lab that is currently being trained with these people.

I won't go into the reasons why I've got a chocolate one, but so far she is coming along "OK". She walks to heal, stays very well, retrieves extremely well (land and water) and after quite a slog we've just about managed to get her to stop on the whistle. She is from working stock and came from here (Sire was "Casper").

It has however, taken a long time and lot of hard work to get her to this standard and she still has a long way to go. I don't think she'd ever make a peg dog, but for walked up and rough shooting she'll be good enough. From what I am learning (and I am new to dog training), it does seem that chocolate labs **tend** to need a lot more work and learn slower, but there is no reason why she won't make a good dog.

I guess most people don't want to or have the time to put in (along with the usual preconceptions on their working ability or lack of).

Sorry but a colour gene alone cannot effect a dogs ability to work regardless were it origonated from. i have know two great chocs personally. also consider how many great work lines have had a little show blood mixed in at some time, maybee as an outcross, its also a good colour for blending in.

thats more than i've seen on shooting fields never seen one, but I do beat on ones with some very good picker uppers so that may explain it. I have to say if you had one it would need to be very good so you didn't just have the urine extracted all the time, keepers are bad enough with fat labs let alone fat and chocolate :lol:

Edited by al4x

Save yourself the hassle, I've never seen a good one in the shooting field.

I do know of several that are good at eating chips and sleeping in pubs though :yp:

On balance a point well made :good: