Old Browning 325 or year old Miroku MK 60

brucegill

Hi Guys

Looking at upgrading my 12 gauge....

Budgets max £700 and thats stretching it to be honest.

Found a Browning 325 Grade 2 and a Miroku MK60 Universal Grade 1 (one year old).

Obviously the one that fits best would be first choice but I'm pretty new to this and it looks like they're much the same gun/maker??

I don't know how old a 325 would be (serial 41101NY) and when Miroku started making the Brownings?)

325 is multy choke and the MK60 is fixed 1/4 & 1/2 I think. I prefer the slimmer forend on the MK60 than the plank attached to the MK38

Shooting pigeon mostly with some sporting clays. No idea what trap and skeet are tbh. Enjoy the clays but they're just not as tasty as Pigeon!

I shoot a 28" but think I might try a 30" ?

Many thanks

Bruce

I think Miroku started making Brownings from the 325 on so yours is probably Miroku produced.

I believe the 325 was the last mass produced Browning to use the 'chopper lump' method of barl assembly which many reckon is/was the best way. I had a 325 until recently (32"), it was a cracking gun and had stood the test if time very well indeed.

Im afraid I know a bit less about the MK 60, but I'm sure someone will be along to help.

Iggy.

If I got it right the 325 was made in 1992, though I think you have partialy answered your own question in that you prefered the fore end on the MK60. I had a MK60 20 bore, which is a well built gun.

If you don't mind the MK 60 being a fixed choke gun I would go for it as long as it fits you well, mine was choked at 3/4 and 1/4, which I found the 3/4 was a bit tight for me as a newbie.

As mentioned the early Brownings barrels were not chromed internally, and could well be worth looking at the barrels to see what condition they are in.

Edited by BerettaSV10

Thanks for the info guys, much appreciated!

I'd not thought about chromed barrels. Would that make them OK for steel shot?